Font size with jQuery A+ | A-

About the Board of Health

The Board of Health (the Board) consists of five members, who are appointed by the District Advisory Council for a five-year term. Board member appointments are made with regard to equal representation of all parts of the Health District. The District Advisory Council may consider the applicant’s place of residence and employment. Board members may not hold an elected office, should be knowledgeable in the field of health and at least one member shall be a physician. Each March a Board Member term expires and interested parties are able to run for the open position.  For additional information on the process contact Mitzi Kline at (614) 525-3028.

The Board meets at least once a month and may hold as many special meetings as it deems necessary. The Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at Memorial Hall, 280 East Broad Street. To see the agenda for an upcoming Board of Health meeting or to see minutes from previous meetings, visit the Board Meetings section. All meetings are open to public and begin promptly at 9:30 am.

Public Participation Request Form

Board Meetings

2018 Board Meetings
January 9 -  Agenda |  Minutes
February 13 -  Agenda |  Minutes
March 13 -  Agenda |  Minutes
April 10 -  Agenda |  Minutes
May 8 -  Agenda |  Minutes
June 12 -  Agenda |  Minutes
July 10 -  Agenda |  Minutes
August 7 -  Agenda |  Minutes
September 11 - Agenda | Minutes
October 9 - Agenda | Minutes
November 13 - Agenda| Minutes
December 11 - Agenda | Minutes

2017 Board Meetings

January 10 -  Agenda | Minutes
February 14 - Agenda | Minutes
March 14 - Agenda | Minutes
April 11 - Agenda | Minutes
May 9 - Agenda | Minutes
June 13 - Agenda | Minutes
July 11 -  Agenda | Minutes
August 8 - Agenda | Minutes
September 12 - Agenda | Minutes
October 10 - Agenda | Minutes
November 14 - Agenda| Minutes
December 12 - Agenda | Minutes

Older Board Meetings 

Board Members

Jack Bope, Jr. Jack R. Bope. Jr., resides in the City of Westerville; is past president of Central Ohio Gasoline Dealers Association; a former Advisory Board Member for Columbus State Community College; is self-employed; and has served on the Board of Health since 1987. Term expires in 2018.

Dr. Roy Barnewall Roy Barnewall, DVM, PhD, resides in Perry Township and is Manager of Inhalation Technology at Battelle Life Sciences Research.  He obtained his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and his PhD in Microbiology and Immunology from The Ohio State University.  He was appointed in September 2017 to fill a vacated term. Term expires in 2020.

Jerry Lupfer Jerry L. Lupfer, resides in Madison Township and has served as a Board Member since 2009. Jerry is the Executive Director of the Ohio State Firefighters Association, and is a member of the Central Ohio Fire Chief's Association and the Central Ohio Fire Prevention Association. He is the former Fire Chief of Hamilton Township and a former member of the State Fire Commission. Jerry also serves as a member of the Ohio Department of Health Advisory Board. Term expires in 2019.

Dr. Thomas Rudge, Jr Thomas Rudge, Jr., Ph.D. received his doctorate in Molecular Genetics from The Ohio State University in 2000. He works at the Battelle Biomedical Research Center and resides in Blendon Township. He was appointed to the Board of Health in 2017. Term expires in 2022.

Dr. Arthur James Arthur R. James, MD, FACOG, resides in Bexley and is a board-certified Obstetrician/Gynecologist who is also a fully train Pediatrician currently employed at The Ohio State University as an  Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. He also serves as the Interim Executive Director of the Ohio State University’s Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity.  He was the founding Medical Director of the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Teen and Pregnant Program and has served as the co-lead for Ohio Better Birth Outcomes and as a consultant for the Franklin County Infant Mortality Task Force, now known as CelebrateOne.  He was appointed in September 2017 to fill a vacated term. Term expires in 2021.